Press release


​​​​​​​Company Celebrates 35th Anniversary by Introducing New Standalone Entry for Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, PC, iOS and Android 

LONDON (Apr. 25, 2024) – Today, SQUARE ENIX® released the next installment in the legendary SaGa franchise, SaGa Emerald Beyond, for Nintendo Switch™, PlayStation®5 (PS5®) and PlayStation®4 (PS4®) consoles, PC (STEAM®)*, and iOS and Android devices**. SaGa Emerald Beyond features the very best elements of the beloved series, including the free-form scenario system and strategic combat, to offer each player their own unique gameplay experience.  

Watch the launch trailer here:  

SaGa Emerald Beyond brings together the core combat and free-form scenario elements of the RPG franchise to deliver the ultimate SaGa experience to fans and newcomers alike. Players can look forward to deeply strategic combat, diverse characters with thrilling backstories, an evolving choice-driven narrative and much more. The latest title in the SaGa franchise sees the return of legendary series icons including SaGa creator Akitoshi Kawazu, composer Kenji Ito and illustrator Satoshi Kuramochi, who have taken what fans of the series love and built it into a game that returning and new fans alike can enjoy. 

“2024 marks the 35th anniversary of the SaGa series. It also marks the first time we’ve been able to release a new SaGa title simultaneously worldwide. Without our fans, this would not have been possible. SaGa Emerald Beyond is the product of 35 years’ worth of innovation, experimentation, and a personal desire to examine what makes an RPG an RPG.  For our longtime fans, I hope you enjoy the ongoing innovations and callbacks to previous SaGa titles. I also invite newcomers to accept the offer of the emerald vision and embark on a new adventure. I hope everyone who picks up this title has an unforgettable experience with it.” – Akitoshi Kawazu, SaGa Series General Director 
“As a longtime SaGa fan who now has the honor of working on this franchise, I couldn’t be prouder to present SaGa Emerald Beyond to the players. The things that made me fall for the SaGa franchise are all present in this title, from the free-form scenario system to the challenging strategic combat to the diverse and intriguing characters. Of course, one can’t forget about composer Kenji Ito’s incredible contributions as well. I’m also proud to say that we’ve taken steps to welcome in newcomers with the game’s emerald waves, which are key to the overall story and will guide players on their journey. I hope that through SaGa Emerald Beyond, players will be able to feel the team’s passion and love for the franchise that has kept the series going strong for 35 years.” – Masanori Ichikawa, SaGa Series Producer 

Those interested in SaGa Emerald Beyond can still download the three platform-exclusive demos on Nintendo Switch, PS5/PS4 and PC. The demos offer several hours of content from each of the three demo characters’ storylines, giving players a taste of what they can expect in the full game with the full cast. Demo save data is transferrable to the full game on that respective platform.  

SaGa Emerald Beyond is available now on Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, PC and iOS and Android devices. The game has been rated T (Teen) by the ESRB. For more information, please visit:  

* STEAM version available from 5:00pm BST / 6:00pm CEST / 9:00am PDT on Thursday, April 25, 2024. 

** iOS and Android version release times may vary by region.  

Related Links: 

Official Website: 

X (previously Twitter): 






About the SaGa Series 

SaGa is a series of revolutionary role-playing games (RPG), created by legendary game developer Akitoshi Kawazu (FINAL FANTASY, FINAL FANTASY II, SaGa Frontier). Since THE FINAL FANTASY LEGEND was released in 1990 for the Game Boy, the series has expanded with several additional entries across numerous platforms. Other SaGa series regulars include illustrator Tomomi Kobayashi, who has given the series its own unique style, and composer Kenji Ito (Mana series). Although the SaGa series shares its roots with FINAL FANTASY, the SaGa series has always incorporated revolutionary and challenging gameplay mechanics, such as player choice, branching storylines and implementing characters with wildly different playstyles, setting it apart from other JRPG series. SaGa Emerald Beyond, the latest standalone entry in the franchise, is out now for various modern platforms. 

About Square Enix, Ltd. 

Square Enix, Ltd. develops, publishes, distributes and licenses SQUARE ENIX® and TAITO® branded entertainment content throughout the Americas as part of the Square Enix group of companies. The Square Enix group of companies boasts a valuable portfolio of intellectual property including: FINAL FANTASY™, which has sold over 185 million units worldwide; DRAGON QUEST®, which has sold over 88 million units worldwide; and the legendary SPACE INVADERS®. Square Enix, Inc. is a London-based, wholly owned subsidiary of Square Enix Holdings Co., Ltd. 

More information on Square Enix, Ltd. can be found at 

# # # 


Nintendo Switch is a registered trademark of Nintendo. Steam is a registered trademark of Valve Corporation. "PlayStation", "PS5 logo", "PS5", “PS4 logo” and “PS4” are registered trademarks or trademarks of Sony Interactive Entertainment Inc. Apple, the Apple logo and App Store are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. All other trademarks are properties of their respective owners.